Three new WhatsApp privacy features were announced on Tuesday in order to give users more security.
Mark Zuckerberg announces three new WhatsApp privacy features to launch a new WhatsApp privacy campaign, according to a tweet from WhatsApp.
The announcement concerns a new global campaign, blocking screenshots for single viewing, and group members who can see when you're online.
The three newest WhatsApp privacy features, which include an announcement intended for group members, who can view the user's online status, screenshot blocking for single views, and a new global campaign, have been revealed by Mark Zuckerberg, CEO and Founder of Meta.
Notably, the three new privacy features include the ability to exit group chats without notifying everyone, control who can see when you’re online, and prevent screenshots from being on view once messages are sent.
WhatsApp said that it is also starting a campaign to educate people about the new features, while WhatsApp already provides other privacy features, including end-to-end encryption messaging and calling for individuals and businesses.
“The focus of their campaign is also to educate people to understand what real security is: it is important to protect users not only when the information is sent but even when it’s stored (for example, by using end-to-end encrypted backups," the WhatsApp release said.
Additionally, “Mark Zuckerberg also announces that when someone leaves a group chat, the event is no longer notified to all members (except group admins) by using a system message within the chat."
So instead of notifying the whole group about this event, only group admins can see it due to moderation reasons.
This feature has already been released to some beta testers on Android and iOS, and it’s coming to more users this month, "as per the WhatsApp release."
WhatsApp informed that with the new privacy setting, the user “will have more control over who can see when you’re using WhatsApp and when you don’t want everyone to be able to see your online presence, you can choose the option “Same as Last Seen”.
This feature will finally be released to users this month, so be sure to keep your version of WhatsApp up to date. As always, we will notify users when there is a compatible build. "