The International Football Association Board (IFAB) has explained why Lionel Messi’s extra-time goal in the World Cup final was allowed to stand.
The goal has stirred up controversy in France, with many claiming it should have been disallowed.
Messi bundled home from close range in the second period of extra time to give Argentina a 3-2 lead.
However, some observers believe the goal should have been cancelled because two Argentina substitutes sauntered onto the field before the ball crossed the line.
According to FIFA’s laws, a goal should be disallowed if an extra person is on the field when the goal is scored.
But IFAB had told The Athletic that the rule would only be relevant if the players interfered with play.
Kylian Mbappe made it 3-3 from the penalty spot, before Argentina went on to win 4-2 in the ensuing shoot-out.
Be first to comment