Though it seem the action was unintentional however the penalty for the action is intentional as the World Number 1, Novak Djokovic who was earlier disqualified from the US Open 2020 after he unconsciously hit a ball at the line judge.
The incident happened in the Round-of-16 tie, while trailing 5-6 to opponent and eventual beneficiary, Pablo Carreño Busta.
The 33-year-old top seed headed straight for his car afterwards.
Pablo Busta's reaction:
"I was celebrating the break with my coach," he told reporters.
"When I heard that the line judge was on the floor I was in shock. I never expected this moment when playing Novak.
Carreno Busta added that the incident was "unintentional."
"I think it was bad luck," he said.
Be first to comment